RISS Spotlight Interview: Amanda Meeks

Amanda Meeks, Research and Instruction Librarian

Savannah College of Art and Design (Atlanta campus)


Q. What type of Reference Model do you currently use?

We have a blended model: reference and circulation wrapped into one.

Q. What is your favorite Reference Resource?

I really enjoy getting to use our industry databases for reports and statistics, such as Euromonitor and WARC, during research consultations. Students are generally really impressed with these resources and that’s fun. I’m also partial to the NYPL’s digital image collection; there is a wealth of inspiration in that collection.

Q. Share one of the most interesting reference questions you’ve ever received.

The thing about being a research librarian is that I find so many of the questions my students bring me “interesting” and enjoy learning from them as we search for sources together. Today, though, a student asked me if they could sketch me while I worked on the desk. I’d call that an interesting “reference interaction.”

Q. Tell us your favorite research subject area, or tell us what types of activities you like to do outside of the library!

My professional research interests are currently feminist and critical pedagogy in library instruction and on the reference desk, ACRL Framework and threshold concepts and visual literacy intersections, and the research habits of art and design students. Outside of the library I like researching all kinds of things, but love packaging that research into zines and artist books most of all.

One comment

Leave a Reply

